Anthropology Faculty

Archaeology Faculty


Rani Alexander

Department Head, Professor

Office: Breland 316
Phone: 575-646-5809
E-mail: raalexan@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, University of New Mexico, 1993
Interests: Mesoamerican archaeology, historical archaeology of Yucatán, ethnohistory and colonialism, agrarian ecology, fauna analysis


fumiarakawaFumi Arakawa

University Museum Director, Associate Professor

Office: Breland 323 / Kent 207
Phone: 575-646-4295 (Breland Hall) / 575-646-4536 (University Museum)
E-mail: farakawa@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, Washington State University, 2006
Interests: Prehistoric American Southwest, lithic technological organization, pottery in Mesa Verde region, sociopolitical organization in tribal-level societies


Kelly L. Jenks 

Assistant Professor

Office: Breland 305 / Lab: Breland 307
Phone: 575-646-2560
E-mail: kljenks@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, University of Arizona, 2011
Interests: Historical archaeology, Hispanic colonization and settlement, political and social identities, regional economic systems, analysis of historical-period artifacts and aboriginal ceramics, ethnohistory


BillWalkerPhoto2013William Walker

Professor

Office: Breland 314
Phone: 575-646-7006
E-mail: wiwalker@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, University of Arizona, 1995
Interests: Southwestern archaeology, ritual in prehistory


Biological Anthropology Faculty


Bonny Ford

Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: Breland 304
Phone: 575-646-5940
E-mail: bmford@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, Texas A&M University, 2018
Interests: Hominin dispersals/migrations, human variation, skeletal biology, modern human origins and the peopling of Central Asia


Cultural Anthropology Faculty


ChaikenProfileMiriam Chaiken

Dean of the Honors College, Distinguished Achievement Professor

Office: Breland 308
Phone: 575-646-2826
E-mail: mchaiken@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, University of California, Santa Barbara, 1983
Interests: Participatory development, resettlement, and rural health and nutrition, gender, applied anthropology, Africa and SE Asia


Donald D. Pepion

College Professor

Office: Breland 303
Phone: 575-646-3610
E-mail: dpepion@nmsu.edu
Education: Ed.D. Adult, Community, and Higher Education, Montana State University, 1999
Interests: Ethnohistory of the indigenous Blackfoot peoples (Canada, U.S.)


Scott Rushforth

Professor

Office: Breland 301
Phone: 575-646-2109
E-mail: srushfor@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, University of Arizona, 1977
Interests: Linguistics, Native American ethnography, Athapaskan languages and cultures


scott2Mary Alice Scott

Associate Professor

Office: Breland 312
Phone: 575-646-5935
E-mail: mscott2@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, University of Kentucky, 2010
Interests: Medical Anthropology, public health, transnational migration, Latin America


M. Lois Stanford

Professor

Office: Breland 306
Phone: 575-646-6092
E-mail: lstanfor@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, University of Florida, 1989
Interests: Applied anthropology, Latin American studies, agricultural economics


Adjunct Faculty


Allison Cantor

E-mail: arcantor@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D. Applied Anthropology, University of South Florida, 2016
Interests: Maternal and child health, reproductive health and human rights, nutrition, the developmental origins of health and disease, medical anthropology, chronic disease, applied anthropology, Latin American studies


Affiliated Faculty


Judy Berryman

E-mail: jberry12@nmsu.edu
Education: Ph.D.  Anthropology, University of California, Riverside, 1995
Interests: Cultural resource management, historical archaeology


Stan Berryman

E-mail: archyman@sbcglobal.net
Education: Ph.D.  Archaeology, University of Leicester, 2014
Interests: Cultural resource management, federal archaeology


Jennifer Robles

E-mail: jrobles@las-cruces.org
Education: Ph.D. Museum Studies, University of Syndey, 2008
Interests: Museum studies


David J. Steele

E-mail: david.steele@ttuhsc.edu or djsteele@nmsu.edu
Phone: 575-449-4180
Education: Ph.D. Anthropology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1982
Interests: Medical anthropology, educational anthropology, more information here


Staff


Barb Burrell

Administrative Assistant

Office: Breland 331 (Department Main Office)
Phone: 575-646-2725
E-mail: bburrell@nmsu.edu
Education: M.A. Sociology, New Mexico State University, 2000

 


Anna Strankman

Curator, University Museum

Phone: 575-646-5161
E-mail: amstrank@nmsu.edu
Education: M.A. Art, University of Washington, 2003

 


Resources for faculty:

Department Functions and Criteria Document (updated in 2015)