NMSU Anthropology Department Faculty

Archaeology Faculty

Rani Alexander (Department Head)

  • Mesoamerican archaeology, historical archaeology of Yucatán, ethnohistory and colonialism, agrarian ecology, fauna analysis
  • raalexan@nmsu.edu

Fumi Arakawa

  • Prehistoric American Southwest, lithic technological organization, pottery in Mesa Verde region, sociopolitical organization in tribal-level societies
  • farakawa@nmsu.edu

Kelly L. Jenks

  • Historical archaeology, Hispanic colonization and settlement, political and social identities, regional economic systems, analysis of historical-period artifacts and aboriginal ceramics, ethnohistory
  • kljenks@nmsu.edu

William Walker

 

Biological Anthropology Faculty

Brenda Benefit

  • Evolution of Miocene, Pliocene, and Pleistocene Catarrhine primates, paleoecology
  • bbenefit@nmsu.edu

Monte McCrossin

 

Cultural Anthropology Faculty

Miriam Chaiken (Dean of the Honors College)

  • Participatory development, resettlement, and rural health and nutrition, gender, applied anthropology, Africa and SE Asia
  • mchaiken@nmsu.edu

W Thomas Conelly

  • Agriculture, ecological anthropology, applied anthropology, SE Asia, East Africa, Amish communities in the U.S.
  • tconelly@nmsu.edu

Donald D. Pepion

  • Ethnohistory of the indigenous Blackfoot peoples (Canada, U.S.)
  • dpepion@nmsu.edu

Scott Rushforth

Mary Alice Scott

  • Medical Anthropology, public health, transnational migration, Latin America
  • mscott2@nmsu.edu

M. Lois Stanford

  • Applied anthropology, Latin American studies, agricultural economics
  • lstanfor@nmsu.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Christine Eber

  • Art, drugs, gender, religion, Mesoamerica, women’s studies, and writing about culture
  • ceber@nmsu.edu

Beth O’Leary

  • Southwest archaeology, cultural resource management, subarctic ethnography
  • boleary@nmsu.edu

Edward Staski

Wenda Trevathan

 

Affiliated Faculty

Noel T. Boaz, Ph.D.

  • Human evolution, biomedical anthropology

Judy Berryman, Ph.D.

Stan Berryman, Ph.D.

  • Federal archaeology, cultural resource management
  • Retired, Cultural Resource Manager at White Sands Missile Range
  • Contact: E-mail: archyman@sbcglobal.net

Warren DeBoer, Ph.D.

  • Archaeology ,ethnoarchaeology, ceramic production, South America, North America
  • Emeritus Professor of Anthropology, Queens College
  • Contact: E-mail: warren.deboer@qc.cuny.edu

Debra LeBeau

Larry Loendorf

  • Cultural resource management

Jennifer Robles, Ph.D.

David J. Steele, Ph.D.

Sara Stinson, Ph.D.

  • Biological anthropology, human growth and development, human adaptation, nutritional anthropology, South America
  • Emeritus Professor of Anthropology, Queens College
  • Contact: E-mail: sara.stinson@qc.cuny.edu

Silvia Torezani, Ph.D.

  • Migrant communities, multiculturalism,global health, digital technologies in anthropology
  • CV